jump to navigation

How NOT to make a cold call – Part 1 July 1, 2010

Posted by truenorthtrainingsolutions in business, Professional, relationships, success, time management.
trackback

The Warm Referral

I know that many of you will find this hard to believe, but I have actually worked in sales a time or two in my life.  Personally I HATE cold calls, I have found that it is MUCH easier and MUCH more profitable if instead of COLD calls you do you best to develop a series of LUKE WARM calls.

You might want to take some notes, as my dad always told me, nothing in life STARTS until someone sells something, and as MY lovely wife will tell you, and these ideas can just as easily help you grow your business as turn a profit.

The idea behind the dreaded cold call is that you are going to sell something, in this case something very expensive to someone who doesn’t KNOW you from the next guy on the street. I’ll be the first one to tell you that the percentages of that actually happening make Direct Mail order seem like a DREAM business, and they are lucky to get a 2% response. So what can we do to increase our odds?

I’m going to walk you through 4 things that will absolutely work every single time YOU remember to apply them.  Mention that last part because even AFTER I learned this, it was several months before I REMEMBERED to integrate them into my DAILY schedule. However the FIRST day that I did, my closing ratio increased 50%

So let’s jump into it.

Step 1 find Buyers who can afford what you have to sell!

As many of you know Michele and me run a training company and we train on a variety of subjects, mostly communications oriented both in business and relationships. Now I can have the ABSOLUTE BEST way for men to patch up ANY argument that they start with their wives and not ONLY have their wives FORGIVE them, but feel lucky to be married to such a stud. But if my class tuition is $200 a head, and I’m talking to a group of public school teachers, in JULY, how well do you think I’m going to do? My classroom is going to be as EMPTY as theirs!

But if I have done my due diligence and I decide that I want to market my class on conflict resolution to young married folks, how much BETTER will I do if I can find a way to bundle MY tuition in with the CATERING package from the Wyndham on I-drive? Now think for a minute, the hotel is expensive, the bride and groom know that, they ALREADY have their checkbooks out, AND their wedding planner has ALREADY explained that before the ceremony if complete they will have fought with their photographer, their caterer and their in laws. So for an extra few hundred dollars I can give them the tools they need to not only survive the process, but arrive at the alter relaxed, happy and NOT on the next episode of BRIDEZILLAS?

Now what if instead of working with the Hotel manager I want to be Greedy and I don’t WANT to split my tuitions, instead I want to develop my OWN line of introductions that will give these folks the feeling that not only do they want my class, not only will it help them, but they in fact would be seriously missing out if they DIDN’T sign up?

That leads us to our next step: which ill be covered next time!

However if you JUST cant wait hop on over to:

http://www.truenorthtrainingsolutions.com

and ask for the remote Control management kit!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

